PR text

Don and Susie Newby: Back to the roots. “New Country” is the word. Although their music could probably be better described as “Pop/Rock/Folk” with Country elements… a sort of James Taylor style. But without the lyrics that Don writes, the music wouldn’t be half as impressive. Whether self-reflective texts about being a world missionary, a true worship lyric, or the life of a fighter, the lyrics convey a deep desire: to give their listeners more than just first-class  music. More… about their personal lives… their experience as followers of Christ in a world that only knows traditional religion and no longer understands what Jesus actually did in real history and what that means today. Their presentation is honest, authentic and believable. With the double-edged sword of the Bible they cut through the barriers of christian tradition and to the quick of a personal relationship to God in the 21st century. And all of this wrapped in quality music that is a pleasure and a delight to listen to.

Workshops

 

Don has developed various practical, music-related workshops that he can offer in various configurations including weekends, one-day, week-long. Topics include Vocal Coaching, Choir, Choral Conducting, Music in Worship, Pop-Rhythm, Band Arrangement, Acoustic Guitar. He is limited to one topic per visit (weekend, day). Each topic requires a minimum of 6 hours.

 

Acoustic Guitar: 

Fingerpicking, 

Fills, 

James Taylor style, 

Tablature, 

Tunings, 

Instrumental Arrangement, etc.

 

Music in Worship: 

Music: Artform or Communication? 

A Biblical/Historical Perspective of the Use of Music. 

Worship Leading or Emotional Manipulation? the Criteria.

This is a hands-on workshop with lots of practical application.

You don’t need to be musical to participate.

 

Vocal Coaching: 

Vocal Production basics

Breath technique and control

Vowels and Consonants

Warm-Up excercizes

Principles of Pop as well as Classical singing

 

Choir:

A workshop for the entire choir.

Choral vocal production

Motivation

Pop Repertoire

Pop-Rhythm:

What makes it pop? 

Shuffle, 

Swing, 

Straight Eighths, 

Sixteenth note grooves. 

Drum principles

Lots of listening and analysis

 

Band Arrangement:

A practical workshop for Christian Pop/Rock Bands

Worship Bands in church context

Emphasis: How to build a good Arrangement

 

PR Photo downloads

Auf ein Foto klicken, um eine Version in hoher Auflösung zu laden.

  • Don Susie
  • Don Susie 2
  • Don Susie on stage 3
  • Don Susie on stage
  • Don Susie on stage 2
  • Don
  • Don Hat
  • Don guitar 2
  • Don guitar

PR text "Diamond"

Don and Susie Newby present the very first Country-Rock-Album in the Christian music community in Germany! Diamond was recorded in Nashville with the help of the best musicians that Nashville has to offer. Only they can recreate the typical Nashville-Sound, that makes this production a treat for the ears. On electric Guitar, Brent Rowan (Shania Twain), Doug Grieves (Prince of Egypt), on Bass David Hungate (Toto), Gary Lunn (Celine Dion), Keys Buddy Hyatt (Toto, Lee Greenwood), Pedal Steel Sonny Garrish, Drums Raymond Boyd (Michael W. Smith). Country Rock in the US, known as »New Country« or »Modern Country« has very little to do with »Truckstop« or the standard western cliche. With »Diamond« Don and Susie have succeeded in creating a new genre in Germany. »Diamond« is a synthesis of rock, pop, folk music with country elements. Don and Susie are excited to have one of the world's top pedal steel players on this album (Sonny Garrish). But none of this would be worth much without the song lyrics. Whether a tongue-in-cheek presentation of a modern-day missionary, a true worship song or metaphor of »The Fighter«, the lyrics are deep, passionate and, along with first-class music, require you to think. Diamond promises to be a real cooker, setting a new standard in the Christian music scene... a standard that can be dangerous: you might not want to listen to anything else... A Producer and Moderator for NDR, a large German radio and television network.

contact

Pressetext

Don und Susie Newby haben zu ihren Wurzeln gefunden! Country-Rock, in den USA unter »Modern Country« oder »New Country« bekannt, ist eben nicht vergleichbar mit dem hinlänglich bekannten Western-Klischee. Ihre Musik ist eher Pop/Rock/Folk mit Country-Elementen. All das wäre aber nichts ohne die Liedtexte. Ob eine kritische Selbstbetrachtung als Missionar in der Welt, ein echter Anbetungstext oder der Weg eines Fighters – in allem spiegelt sich ein tiefgehendes Anliegen – den Hörern mehr zu geben, als »nur« erstklassige Musik. Mehr von ihrem Leben, ihren Erahrungen als überzeugte Christen in einer Welt, die das als "traditionelle Religion" versteht und nicht mehr weiss, was Jesus wirklich wollte. Ihre Präsentation ist ehrlich, authentisch und glaubwürdig. Mit dem zwei-schneidigen Schwert der Bibel brechen sie durch die Mauer der christlichen Tradition und bringen die persönliche Beziehung zu Gott in das 21. Jahrhundert. Und das alles mit einer qualitativen Musik verpackt, die ein echter Genuss für die Zuhöher ist.

Workshops

Don bietet verschiedene praktische Workshops zu verschiedenen musikalischen Themen in verschiedenen Konfigurationen (Wochenenden, ganztägig, wochenlang). Themen sind Sologesang, Chor, Chor Dirigieren/Leitung, Musik in der Anbetung, Rhythmik, Band-Arbeit oder akustischer Gitarre anbieten. Es beschränkt sich auf ein Thema pro Wochenende oder Tag. Jedes Thema braucht mindestens 6 Stunden.

 

Akustische Gitarre: 

Fingerpicking, 

Fills, 

James Taylor style, 

Tabulatur, 

Tunings, 

Instrumental- Arrangement, etc.

 

Musik in der Anbetung: 

Musik: Kunstform oder Kommunikationsmittel?

Biblische/Historische Perspektive und Gebrauch von Musik.

Anbetung Leiten oder emotionelle Manipulation? die Kriterien.

Ein Hands-on Workshop mit vielen Beispielen aus der Praxis.

Die ganze Gemeinde kann an diesem Workshop teilnehmen.

Keine musikalische Voraussetzungen

 

Sologesang: 

Stimmbildung, 

Atemtechnik, 

Vokale/Konsonanten, 

Vokalisen, 

Grundprinizipien des Pop- und klassischen Gesangs.

 

Chor: 

Ein Workshop für den gesamten Chor. 

Prinzipien des Chorgesangs, 

Motivation, 

neues Repertoire (interessante Arrangements) 

 

Pop-Rhythmk: 

Schwerpunkt: Jugendchor Pop-rhythmik

Was ist Pop-Musik? 

Groove, Shuffle, Swing, Achtel-, Sechszehntel Feelings, 

Das Pop-Schlagzeug. 

Viel Hören und Analysieren. 

Ein Power-Seminar.

 

Band-Arbeit: 

ein Praktischer Workshop for christliche Pop- und Rockbands in der Gemeinde und darüberhinaus. 

Lobpreisbands

Schwerpunkt: Arrangement.

PR Photo downloads

Auf ein Foto klicken, um eine Version in hoher Auflösung zu laden.

  • Don Susie
  • Don Susie 2
  • Don Susie on stage 3
  • Don Susie on stage
  • Don Susie on stage 2
  • Don
  • Don Hat
  • Don guitar 2
  • Don guitar

Pressetext "Diamond"

Don und Susie Newby präsentieren das erste Country-Rock-Album der christlichen Musikszene in Deutschland! Diamond entstand unter tatkräftiger Mitwirkung von den besten der besten Studiomusiker Nashville's. Nur sie bekommen diesen typischen Nashville-Sound hin, der die Produktion zu einem erstklassigen Hörgenuß macht. Und ihre Credits lesen sich wie ein Who's Who der Musikwelt: Celine Dion, B.B. King, Soundtrack vom »Prinz von Ägypten«, Shania Twain und einige andere mehr. Dazu ein ganz neues Gesangs-Duo – Don und Susie haben zu ihren Wurzeln gefunden! Country-Rock, in den USA unter »Modern Country« oder »New Country« bekannt, ist eben nicht vergleichbar mit dem hinlänglich bekannten Western-Klischee. Auf Diamond zu hören: Pop/Rock/Folk mit Country-Elementen. Deswegen freuen sich die Newby's besonders, einen der drei besten Pedal-Steel-Gitarristen der Welt (Sonny Garrish) als Freund auf diesem Album zu haben. All das wäre aber nichts ohne die Liedtexte. Ob eine kritische Selbstbetrachtung als Missionar in der Welt, ein echter Anbetungstext oder der Weg eines Fighters – in allem spiegelt sich ein tiefgehendes Anliegen – den Hörern mehr zu geben, als »nur« erstklassige Musik. Diamond wird in der Musikszene mit Sicherheit ein echter »Hinhörer« – und Don & Susie Newby setzen mit dieser CD einen neuen Qualitätsstandard, der gefährlich ist: Man mag hinterher eigentlich nichts anderes mehr hören... Ein NDR-Redakteur und Moderator

contact